Pointless rebrand of the year…

20 Jul

If you wondering where I’m going with this. Well you guessed right, “the rebrand of KPLC”. A topic to be discussed, I just have to bring it up. The questions I have for them are:

1. What we’re you thinking? 

In all due respect, you should spending  money upgrading your “crappy” systems. We’re you guys bored of your money that you thought, “ohh let’s waste it”. My grandma upcountry still has no power. Do something about it. Until the whole of Kenya has power, you have no bragging rights.

2. Who did your rebrand?

I know it’s some agency or wait you did a competition on the newspaper. Just coz my daughter or son paints a stick drawing of me on the fridge doesn’t mean I have to make it a logo. So for the person who did it, we’re you making a mathematical paragon. Or maybe some inverse elephant tasks?  And good choice of colour, bringing out the Kamba in you.

Further analysis of your rebrand:

Before


I didn’t like their previous logo/ look but it worked. My opinion is whenever you do a rebrand, it’s either you simplify your logo. Take for example Kenya Airways, simplified their logo and look by using a “calm” font to complement their brand which makes it more inviting. When I see the old KPLC logo, i see room for change. They could have improved their look

After rebrand

I don’t know what this is, but I’m guessing a power station. Looks more like a vector honey comb to me. If KPLC was spending on a rebrand, they might have as well improved on their previous look and added the Kenya Power like they have. There is something in being proud of where you come from even if technology changes. Look at brands like “apple”, they have simply been improving their brand over the time. So maybe since KPLC has been in existence from I don’t know when could have made gold from old.

3. Who else would we turn to for power?

Dahhhh KPLC, so rebranding really won’t make a difference but now come to think of it maybe solar energy is your greatest competitor.

My conclusion rests at, I could go on and on about the shady rebrand of KPLC but the truth is what is done is done. The damage is done. But I must salute on the communication material. Although the logo is the main thing. Looks will change, but your eyes will always remain intact. they won’t move or go anywhere unless of course you do plastic surgery.

I hope this serves as a lesson to all, don’t rebrand unless it’s worth it in the long run.

If you have any comments you would like to share please do on the box below this post. Have an awesome day people.

The information on this post is simply my opinion. If you offended sorry, if you ain’t , good for you. 

 

4 Responses to “Pointless rebrand of the year…”

  1. tony T July 20, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Its a new suit but same wearer, their service is quite crappy and the complains out here from consumers..is not good..we all soon gonna go green and venture into solar..a one big pinch on the pocket but a lifetime of energy to serve generations behind you…

    • miriamwanda July 20, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      I agree, same service, new suit. Repackaging the bad…lol. You couldn’t have said it any better.

  2. Leumas Grande July 20, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Nice. We need to say it like it is and i’m happy you have. To sum it all up on the logo bit, they have sugar coated what the company really entails and that is crappy ass services.

    • miriamwanda July 20, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      You couldn’t have said it well too. KPLC just need to put their priorities right. Thanks for your comment. Keep reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

